25.3 C
Sierra Leone
Friday, May 20, 2022

WAFA releases inaugural ‘Cotton Tree’ Cup fixtures

March 24, 2016 By Sahr Morris Jr.

A total of 78 first and second division teams will participate in the first round qualifiers of the Western Area Football Association (WAFA) inaugural ‘Cotton Tree’ Cup which will commence on 2 April, 2016.

The tournament, which will also include female teams, will run on a home and away basis, and according to the WAFA secretary-general, Kashor Holland-Cole, the male teams have been divided into four zones.

“We decided to divide the teams into four zones according to their geographical locations. Four teams will qualify from each zone to join the 10 Western Area Premier League clubs in the next round of the tournament,” Holland-Cole said, adding that the competition will run like an FA Cup tournament.

The WAFA scribe was quick to dismiss postulation that their Cotton Tree Cup is a counter league to the Isha Johansen led football administration FA Cup competition.

He said: “Our competition is no counter FA Cup but a tournament organised for all the teams under our jurisdictions and it is not going to be a one-off tournament.”

The teams in Zone One will play all their matches at Angola Town, while Aberdeen playing field will host teams in Zone Two, while the 16 teams in Zone Three will have to battle at the Attouga Mini Stadium in Cline Town. The Bassa Town field in Waterloo will host the Zone Four teams.

Real Friends will take on Cristiano Boys in Zone One’s opening ceremony on 2 April. The same day at the Aberdeen playing filed, Sierra Leone Police will host Brookfields United in an all Zone Two encounter, and in Zone Three opener, Wellington People will entertain Shell United. Dauda Bangs FC will take on Rokel FC in the Zone Four opening ceremony.

The winner of the Cotton Tree cup will scoop Le10 million, while the runners-up will secure Le5 million. The female champions will bag Le3 million.

Zone One teams: Murray Rovers, Real Mark FC, Prisons FC, Cristiano Boys, Hawks FC, AIK Freetong FC, Goderich United FC, Lion Pride FC, Wilberforce Strikers FC, Real Friends FC, Lumley Academy FC and Standard FC.

Zone Two teams: Sierra Leone Police FC, Brookfields United FC, Stationery Stars, Dollarosa FC, Mount Aureol SLIFA, Regent Olympic, Leicester City FC, Kallon Jr FC, Bolton FC, Success FC, Luawa FC, Texas FC, Nottingham Forest FC, Young Stars FC and Kelly FC.

Zone Three teams: Wellington People, Shell United, Belvic, Man City, Estate Contractor, Real Republicans, VEM, Kissy All Stars, Sunday United, B. Strikers, Ibrahim FC, Galaxy FC, Alaska FC, Wellington Dynamo, Young Doctors FC, Shell United FC and Portee Sunlight.

Zone Four teams: Dauda Bangs FC, Rokel FC, Waterloo FC, Tombo FC, Small Country FC, Kebbie FC, Newsite FC, Rural FC, Future Stars FC, Wonderers FC, Liverpool FC, Mattia FC, New London FC, Bash FC, Yams Farm FC, Newton FC, Deep Eye Water FC and Grass Field FC.

Related Articles

Latest Articles