27.4 C
Sierra Leone
Monday, May 23, 2022

Sesay, Kamara included in Leone Stars squad

May 30, 2016 By Sahr Morris Jr.

Barnet FC defender Alie Sesay and FC Riga midfielder John Kamara have both been included in the list of invited foreign-based players for the Sierra Leone national team’s encounter against Sudan on 4 June, 2016 in Freetown.

The pair was earlier left out of caretaker coach, Sellas Tetteh’s 13-man squad, but with barely a week to go, the Ghanaian tactician had added the duo for the crucial match.

A total of 15 foreign based players are now expected for the Leone Stars decisive encounter and Concord Sports understands that because of the importance of the clash, following several dialogues, a decision was made for the inclusion of the duo.

Sesay, 22, who in January signed for the English League Two side in an 18-month deal, has played twice for Sierra Leone, including helping them to a clean sheet in a 0-0 draw against Cameroon during the qualifiers for the 2015 African Nations Cup.

Kamara, who was banished for three weeks due to fears over the Ebola virus by his former Greek club PAS Lamia following his return from Cameroon, has had over six caps for Sierra Leone.

The Leone Stars and Falcons of Jediane clash on 4 June could be a decider for both sides in increasing their hopes of qualifying for the 2017 showpiece in Gabon. A win for Sierra Leone will set them in need of just three points in their final match against Ivory Coast to qualify to Gabon.

Below: Sierra Leone’s 15 man foreign-based list to face Sudan:

England: Alie Sesay Barnet FC
Latvia: John Kamara FC Riga
France: Solomon Zombo Morris FC Quevilly
Belarus: David Simbo, Krumkachy Minsk and Skipper Umaru Bangura – Dinamo Minsk.
Finland: Abdul Sesay – OPS, Medo Kamara – HJK Helsinki and Hassan Milla Sesay – FC Lathi.
Sweden: Alhassan ‘Crespo’ Kamara – Orebro and Ibrahim T. Bangura – GAIS.
China: Mohamed ‘Pobosky’ Bangura, Dalian Yifang
Germany: George Davis – Gruther Furthe
Turkey: Alfred Sankoh – Baliksespor
Serbia: Mustapha Haji Bangura – Borac Cacak.
Slovenia: Julius Gibrilla Wobay – NK Olimpija.

Related Articles

Latest Articles