Probing Ebola funds use: ACC invites 39


- Steven Gaojia, Charles Mambu & Jack Lansana on the list

February 19, 2015 By Ibrahim Tarawallie

THE PROBER ... Anti-Corruption Commission chief, Joseph Fitzgerald Kamara
THE PROBER … Anti-Corruption Commission chief, Joseph Fitzgerald Kamara

The Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) has invited for questioning at least 39 prominent individuals, including senior officials in the Ministry of Health and Sanitation, in relation to the management of funds meant for the fight against the deadly Ebola outbreak.

A release from the ACC dated Tuesday February 17, 2015 and signed by its Commissioner, Joseph Fitzgerald Kamara, ordered the National Coordinator of the National Ebola Response Center Steven Gaojia, Chief Nursing Officer Hossainatu M. Kanu, Executive Director of Health For All Coalition Charles Mambu, Victor Lansana Koroma of Health Alert, and the Head of Communications at NERC, Sidi Yayah Tunis, among others, to – with immediate effect – report to the commission along with documents in respect of the Ebola funds management.

The list of invitees also includes popular musician, Lansana Sheriff aka ‘Steady Bongo’.
buy norvasc generic over the counter

“All persons whose names have been mentioned are advised to report to the offices of the Anti-Corruption Commission at 3 Gloucester Street, Freetown or any of our regional offices in Bo, Makeni, Kenema and Kono, and bring along documents in respect of the management of Ebola funds,” the release stated.

The ACC also urged all District Medical Officers “to appear on scheduled dates to be advised later”.

It could be recalled that the Audit Service Sierra Leone last Friday released a damning report on the management of funds that were directly received by the government to fight the Ebola outbreak.

The report, which is currently before the house of parliament for MPs to deliberate on and make recommendations, raised serious questions about how some civil society organizations, individuals and health officials managed the Ebola funds totalling over Le14 billion between May and October 2014.

The full list of invited individuals by the ACC:

1 Dr. Donald Bash Taqi

2 Charles Mambu – Health For All Coalition

3 Steven Gaojia

4 Sahr Kapuwa – Former Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health

5 Festus Kuyembeh – Director, Financial Resources (MoHS)

6 Mr. Bash Bangura

7 Sidi Yayah Tunis – Director ICT

8 Senesie Margao

9 Bassie Turay

10 Sahr Yomba Senesie

11 Jalikatu Mustapha

12 George Penyike – Provincial Secretary, East

13 Philip Amara

14 Chairman – Pujehun District Descendants Association

15 Michael Jack Lansana

16 General Manager – Kamasseh Construction and Engineering Services

17 Dr. Abdul Kamara

18 Ms. Hossainatu M. Kanu – Chief Nursing Officer

19 Dr. Tom Sesay – District Medical Officer, Bombali

20 Programme Manager – Teenager Pregnancy Reduction

21 Albert Sesay

22 The Head, Praise Foundation

23 The Head, Sierra Leone Health Services Union

24 The Head, Sierra Leone Health Workers Union

25 Yayah A. Conteh

26 General Manager – Trans Atlantic Ventures

27 Victor Koroma – Health Alert

28 Fatmata Collier

29 Saffa Bundaka

30 Kelfala Marah

31 General Manager – Cerra Trading S/L Ltd

32 Eustace During

33 Naomi M. Lobba

34 Aminata Koroma

35 Bashiru Kamara

36 Dr. A.S. Turay

37 Lansana Sheriff – aka Steady Bongo

38 Delphine Caulker

39 Joseph Flinkinger