President Bio endorses Hon. Sidi Tunis for ECOWAS Speakership


September 17, 2019

By Abdul Malik Bangura


President Julius Maada Bio has in a televised video message to Members of the Economic Commission of West African States (ECOWAS) Parliament which was played at the Extra Ordinary Session of the ECOWAS Parliament currently ongoing in Monrovia, Republic of Liberia endorsed and weigh in absolute support for the Leader of Government Business of Sierra Leone House of Parliament to serve as Speaker of the ECOWAS Parliament.

Honourable Sidi Mohamed Tunis, is the Leader of Government Business in the Sierra Leone House of Parliament and native from Pujehun District as he also doubles as a ruling Sierra Leone Peoples Party (SLPP) Member of Parliament for Constituency 101 in the Southern Provincial district of Pujehun.

Whilst endosing Honourable Sidi Mohamed Tunis, President Bio said “I have known him for several years and he served in several leadership positions in this country,” adding that “I know his wealth of knowledge he will bring to the table to make ECOWAS Parliament a better institution than it is currently.”

President Bio further added that “I endorse him as my candidate and I am appealing to all of us to support him and you will not regret it.”

Meanwhile, in a similar development, the candidature of Honourable Sidi Mohamed Tunis as Speaker of ECOWAS Parliament has so far received complete approval from all political sides in the current dispensation of the Sierra Leone House of Parliament.

Already,  this writer can confirm that a fourteen (14) man delegation from the country’s parliament has left for neighbouring Republic of Liberia to gather support from the Mano River state.

This delegation comprises Members of Parliament from the ruling SLPP, main opposition All Peoples Congress (APC), the National Grand Coalition (NGC), the Coalition for Change (C4C) and representatives of the Independent MPs. Amongst them is the Speaker of Sierra Leone House of Parliament Hon. Abass Chernor Bundu, Leader of the opposition in the House of Parliament Honourable Chernor Ramadan Maju Bah, the Majority Chief Whip Honourable Dixon Rogers, Opposition Chief Whip Honourable Hassan Sesay, Honourable Amadu Kanu, Honourable Bashiru Silikie, Honourable Veronica Kadie Sesay, Honourable Ajibola Manley Spaine, Honourable Shaka Sama and the Clerk of Parliament Honourable Paran Tarawally, all of whom have joined the train to campaign for Honourable Sidi Mohamed Tunis.