23.9 C
Sierra Leone
Monday, July 4, 2022

P’ment okays Audit Services Board Chair, 4 other

DECEMBER 18, 2014

Parliament yesterday, through the recommendations contained in the third report of its Committee on Appointments and the Public Service, approved five presidential nominees to serve in various positions.

The approved nominees include: Jonathan Admire Thomas – Board Chairman, Audit Services; Rev. Joseph Yather Konteh – Board Member, Road Maintenance Fund Administration; Ms Jeneba Sesay – Board Member, Road Maintenance Fund Administration; Ms. Esther Panda – Board Member, National Public Procurement Authority; and David Santigie Kabia – Board Member, Independent Media Commission.

In light of section 57 of Act No. 6 of the 1991 Constitution of Sierra Leone, nominees duly approved by Parliament will enter their official functions after they have taken and subscribed to an oath administered by the President, Dr. Ernest Bai Koroma as inscribed in the Third Schedule of the said 1991 Constitution.

Also, Parliament yesterday passed the Finance Act, 2015, being an Act that provides for the imposition and alteration of taxation to raise revenue for the government as provided by law with some amendments, after it had gone through the first, second and third readings.

Credit: Department of Public Relations, Parliament

Related Articles

Latest Articles