24.4 C
Sierra Leone
Friday, January 28, 2022

Parliament approves presidential nominees

October 9, 2015 By Jariatu S. Bangura

Members of the Appointment Committee and the Public Service in Parliament yesterday approved seven presidential nominees to serve as board members in different institutions.

Presenting the nominees to members for approval, Chairman and Majority Leader of Parliament, Hon. Ibrahim R. Bundu said the committee conducted hearings according to its set framework and that the nominees were interviewed on issues pertaining to their educational background, to ensure that they have relevant education and experience to man their respective positions.

He said questions put to the nominees covered wide ranging issues relating to their track records in pertinent fields, declared assets, tax obligations and vision for national productive tenure.

Among the nominees, were Ms. Sonia Osho-Williams -Board member, NATCOM, Samuel A. Turay -Board member, Sierra Leone Water Company, Sidique Mansaray-Board member, Sierra Lone Water Company, Christo Johnson – Board member Income Tax Board of Appellate Commissioners, Hon. Alhaji Alie Badarah Sheriff- Board member SIERRATEL, Emmanuel Tarmoh -Board member Sierra Leone Housing Corporation, and Abu B. Tarawalie- Board member, Mineral Advisory Board.

During her interview by the committee, Ms. Osho-Williams, who is the current Acting Executive Director at AdvocAid Sierra Leone and a barrister-at-law, told members that “I am an individual who believes in respecting and upholding people’s rights in general. When I get the letter nominating me as Board member, I must admit that though it is outside my professional zone, I was quiet ecstatic because I have always wanted to be part of an institution that actually bridges the divide”.

She added: “I knew I could bring in my legal expertise because as a lawyer I need to be generic in my practice.  I believe that telecommunication is one of the tools of economic development for the country and I also believe that I have a lot to bring to NATCOM and I assure you.”

Related Articles

Latest Articles