Parliament approves 10 Appeals and High Court Judges


By Jariatu S. Bangura

Members of the Appointment and Public Service committee on Thursday,December 8, approved ten presidential nominees to serve as Appeals and High Court Judges respectively.

The Judges of the Appeals Court includes: Justice Francis Bangs Kamara,Justice Hannah Bonnie, Justice Aggrey Aruna, Justice  Adrian Fisher,Justice Mohammed Bawoh, Justice Abdul Sheriff and Justice Abu Bakarr Sannoh.

Also, the Judges for the High Court includes Justice Tonya Bannette,Justice Samuel Omodele Moses Taylor and Justice Michale Patrick Hindolo Mammy Jrn respectively.

Chairman of the Committee and Leader of Government Business, Hon. Matthew Nyuma, commended his colleagues for making the approval of the judges for the benefits of all, thus urging that the same atmosphere be accorded to others.

Also,Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Hon. Segepor S. Thomas, commended the President for recognizing  the hard work of his colleague legal luminaries, but called on government to help improve the welfare and improve the status of judges considering their workloads.

He also urged that emphasis be placed on improving the technological creativity in the courtrooms as some judges have to sit for longer period writing on paper for each witness or prosecutor one at a time.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here