20.4 C
Sierra Leone
Thursday, May 26, 2022

NOC-SL members elect presidential duo 

April 7, 2016  By Sahr Morris Jr.

Members of the National Olympic Committee of Sierra Leone (NOC-SL) Wednesday elected President of Sierra Leone Wrestling Association, Prince Sualley, and the Sierra Leone Squash Racket Association President, Umaru Kakay, as treasurer and chairman of Sports For All Commission respectively.

The duo were elected to their respective positions during the committee’s general congress, which was held yesterday at the Sierra Leone Squash Racket Association secretariat at the National Stadium in Freetown.

Both presidents were overwhelmingly elected by their colleagues in Wednesday’s congress as they both went unopposed for the said positions.

The Wrestling president was declared unopposed winner in the congress after all four of the nomination spots went in his favour, thanks to President of Women and Sports Commission, Pamela Williams, Joseph K. Kanu, President of Sierra Leone Fencing Association, President of Judo Association, Idriss Massaquoi, and the athletes’ representative, Frank Turay, all of whom nominated him (Prince Sualley).

An excited Prince Sualley said he was pleased to have the backing of his colleagues and promised to live up to the task entrusted in him. He said: “Despite my term in that office is short, there is lot of work to do and I promise I will never betray the trust given by colleague presidents.”

Sualley’s appointment came almost three years after he was defeated at the last NOC-SL congress by current president Dr. Patrick Coker at the Mugeneh Hall, Goderich. Dr. Coker pulled 10 votes while Sualley secured 6 votes in that election.

The Wrestling president will now replace the late former President of the Sierra Leone Swimming, Diving and Water Pool Association (SLSDWA), Dr. A.T. Fadlu-Deen, who until his death was the NOC-SL treasurer.

Elsewhere, President of Squash and Racket Association received the support of his colleagues for the newly instituted Sports For All Commission, after everyone present refused to nominate any other candidate as chairman for the commission.

Related Articles

Latest Articles