New Clerk of Parliament Appointed


April 17, 2018 

Clerk of Parliament: Hon. Paran Tarawally

As new Members of Parliament are set to take the oath of office this week, a new Clerk of Parliament has been appointed in the person of Hon. Paran Umar Tarawally.

Hon. Tarawally replaces former holder, Hon.  Ibrahim S. Sesay.

According to a letter signed by Dennis K. Vandi, Secretary to the President, the appointment takes “effect from the date of …assumption of duty in that capacity.”

It thus remains to be seen whether he will preside over the orientation session for the new 146 lawmakers that had been scheduled to take place today.

The new Clerk of Parliament was Member of Parliament representing Constituency 069 in Bo District under the Sierra Leone Peoples Party (SLPP) in the last Parliament.

Hon. Tarawally lost his bid to return to the House as lawmaker after he failed to get his party’s nomination, but became a key member of the campaign team in especially Falaba district, where the now ruling SLPP got a seat.

Meanwhile, the House is also expected to elect a new Speaker of Parliament on Thursday as it remains very unlikely that Hon. SBB Dumbuya will retain the coveted position, although his party, the main opposition All Peoples Congress, has the highest number of seats – 68 in the 146 unicameral chambers.