22 C
Sierra Leone
Wednesday, May 18, 2022

Mustapaha Bundu & George Davies dropped as Keister names 23-man squad

August 28, 2018

By Sahr Morris Jnr

Denmark-based striker Mustapha Bundu

Sierra Leone coach John Keister has left out Denmark-based striker, Mustapha Bundu and FC Riga winger, George Kweku Davies, for next month’s 2019 African Cup of Nations qualifier against Ethiopia in Hawass.

The Leone Stars coach named his final 23-man squad for the tough assignment, excluding the graduate from Craig Bellamy’s Academy, unattached midfielder, Khalifa Jabbie, youngster George Davies amongst others.

Other notable absentees are strikers FC Sheriff Tiraspol forward Alhaji Kamara and Berliner AK striker, Abu Bakarr Kargbo. The duo were part of the 32-man squad earlier named by the former Leone Stars midfielder.

However, there was a new inclusion in the striking  force with the addition of Indonesia based forward Ibrahim Conteh. The striker was not part of the earlier named 32-man squad but was used as a replacement for Kamara.

The omission of Bundu will prolong the player’s wait for his senior Sierra Leone debut as the 21-year old striker was looking forward to the first call-up when he was named in the provisional squad.

He told the BBC sports after his inclusion in the provisional squad: “It means the world to me as it’s the dream of every player to play for his or her country.”

Unlike Bundu, this is the first time in recent run that the FC Riga winger George Kweku Davies has been left from the Sierra Leone squad.

However, new faces like Bristol City goalkeeper, Alhaji Sesay, QRR defender Osman Kakay, Amadou Bakayoko of Coventry City all made the final cut and Sheka Fofonah is making his return to the squad.

The Group F encounter is scheduled to take place in Hawass on September 9. Below is the full list of players selected:


Solomon Zombo Morris (FC Rodeo, France), Alhaji Sesay, (Bristol City England), Mohamed N Kamara (FC Johansen),


Umaru Bangura (FC Zurich, Switzerland), David Simbo (Kiremithane Spor Turkey), Hassan Milla Sesay (FC Lathi, Finland), Abu Suma (Unattached) Osman Kakay (QRR, England), Alie Sesay (AOX Kissamikos Greece) and Yeami Dunia (Standard FC)


Mohamed Medo Kamara (Kuwait SC, Kuwait), Alfred Sankoh (Al-Jabalain, Saudi Arabia), Michael Lahoud FC Cincinnati, USA), (John Kamara FC Kaisar Kazakhstan) and Julius Wobay Unattached)


Kei Kamara Vancouver Whitecaps Canada, Alhassan Kamara BK Hacken Sweden, Ibrahim Conteh PSIS FC, Malaysia, Kwame Quee UMF Vikingur, Iceland, Mohamed Buya Turay Sint Truiden Belgium, Sheka Fofanah Al-Nasr Oman, Amadou Bakayoko Coventry City UK, Christian Moses Viborg FF Danmark

Related Articles

Latest Articles