27.5 C
Sierra Leone
Friday, May 20, 2022

Kamara, Bangura shortlisted for ‘Player of the Year’ award

Kei Kamara has been lethal in front of goal

January 12, 2016 By Sahr Morris Jr.

Columbus Crew striker, Kei Kamara and Dinamo Minsk defender, Umaru ‘Zingalay’ Bangura are amongst the five nominated players for the 2015 Sierra Leone Football.com ‘Player of the Year’ award.

Kamara and Bangura, who are previous winners of the annual gong, will face competition from Alhaji ‘Adriano’ Kamara of Swedish champions IFK Norrköping, Scotland-based Mustapha Dumbuya and Mohamed ‘Poborsky’ Bangura – who recently moved to China on a bumper deal.

Also, Crystal Palace forward, Sullay Kaikai and Holland-based Issa Kallon are amongst the five other players nominated for the 2015 Globalkall ‘Young Player’ award, which is designed for Sierra Leonean players under the age of 21 years.

The other three players are Arsenal’s Glen Kamara, USA-based Victor Mansaray, and Ishmail ‘Jojor’ Koroma of Swedish club Nyköping FF.

According to Sierra Leone Football.com editor and pioneer, Mohamed Fajah Barrie, the criteria for the nomination of the players were based on their respective performances for both club and country from November 2014 to November 2015.

He said: “These players were nominated by selected sports journalists who will also have the chance to vote. Also the viewers of Sierra Leone Football.com website will also decide the winners [in the various categories] through voting.”

He added: “Voting has already commenced and will end at midnight on Sunday 31st January 2016 with the winners to be announced during an awards ceremony in London on the 21st May 2016. The winners will receive specially designed glittering trophies with their names written on them. Other prizes will also be given out during the ceremony.”

Umaru Bangura, who won the 2013 award, makes the shortlist for the fourth time running while the maiden winner of the award in 2012, Kei Kamara is on it for the third time. Alhaji Kamara is on the shortlist for the second time, while Mohamed Bangura and Mustapha Dumbuya are both being shortlisted for the first time.

Related Articles

Latest Articles