Former Leone Stars captain gets national appointment


May 9, 2017  By Sahr Morris Jnr

leone star

Former Sierra Leone national team, Leone Stars captain, Abu Bakarr Tostao Kamara has been appointed as head coach of the country’s national home based team.

Former, Leone Stars Captain, East End Lions and Al Ismaili defender was named head coach of the home-base team and given the task to prepare the team for both the Champion of African Nations (CHAN) tournament and the West African Football Union (WAFU) competition.

According to the SLFA media officer, Ibrahim Kamara,’Tostao’s mandate is to qualify the team for the CHAN and also compete in the WAFU tournament.

Kamara’s first assignment will be against Senegal in the first round of the 2018 African Nations Championship (CHAN) qualifying campaign.

The home-base Leone Stars will host the Lions of Teranga in Freetown on the weekend of 14-16 July in the first-leg, while the second-leg will take place the following weekend in Dakar. The winner of the double legged tie will face the winners of the Guinea-Bissau and Guinea clash in the second round, with the first leg billed to take place between 11 and 13 August, while the return leg would take place the following weekend.

Already 30 players listed below have been invited for training session which will commence today at the Sierra Leone Football Academy grounds.
Goal Keepers

  1. Unisa Koroma – East End Lions
  2. Mohamed Rogers- East End Tigers
  3. Issac Caulker- FC Kallon
  4. Ibrahim Bangura- SL Police
  5. Didi- RLSAF

Wing Backs

  1. Yeami Dunya- FC Johansen
  2. Kempson Fofanah- East End Lions
  3. Yusufu Koroma- East End Tigers
  4. Morie- Kamboi Eagles

Central Defenders

  1. Suma Abu- FC Johansen
  2. David Janneh- RSLAF
  3. Lacio- FC Kallon
  4. Auwa- Ports Authority

Defensive Midfielders

  1. Alfred Sakila- Central Parade
  2. John Caulker- Blackpool
  3. Mohamed Z. Kargbo- Real Mark

Attacking Midfielders

  1. Abedi Abu Kanu- Blackpool
  2. Gibrilla Osu- FC Kallon
  3. George Matta- FC Johansen


  1. Abdul Bangura- FC Johansen
  2. Donald Wellington- East End Lions
  3. Kabba Tucker- Anti Drugs
  4. Mark- Freetown City Council
  5. Issac Davies- Black Pool
  6. Abu Komeh- FC Kallon


  1. Kwami Quee- FC Johansen
  2. Abdul Dul- East End Tigers
  3. Prince Barrie- FC Kallon
  4. Alimamy Kamara- RSLAF
  5. Abu Bakarr Mansarray- Old Edwardians