27.4 C
Sierra Leone
Monday, May 23, 2022

Bourne-Coker re-elected Cricket Board Chairman

June 27, 2016 By Sahr Morris Jr.

Beresford Bourne-Coker Saturday, 25 June, 2016 staved off challenge of AIG Wellington to retain the chairmanship of the Sierra Leone Cricket Association Board.

BourneCoker, a former cricketer, was overwhelmingly voted for after he received 15 of the 17 votes on offer from the delegates, while AIG Wellington only secured the two remaining votes.

Incumbent vice chairman Martin Michael was also returned to office after he recorded a seven vote margin win over Dr. Monty Harding. Michael pulled 12 votes while his counterpart secured five votes.

Three other members, George Labour, Ainor Scott, Michael Kargbo all went unopposed for the post of director of marketing, director of development and technical director respectively, while former assistant female national team coach, Elizabeth French was elected as the first ever female director on the board.

Daniel Koroma now replaces Sidney Benka-Coker as Secretary to the Board after defeating Tunde Morrison 13-3 out of 16 votes cast, with one delegate abstaining.

Like the electoral process for election to the Board, the position of Chief Executive Officer (CEO) was retained by Francis Trevor Samura, while Eustace Johnson replaced Foday Sankoh as Samura’s deputy.

James Karrow-Kamara and Erick Harvey both retained their respective positions as financial officer and administrative secretary, while Samuel John went unopposed as Media Officer.

The SLCA election followed weeks of tussle and petition by some members of the congress, which saw the intervention of the Sports Ministry. After lengthy deliberation last Tuesday with the Sports Ministry officials, the SLCA members were asked to reschedule a new date for the congress on 25 June.

 “It’s was difficult days for us as a family and I hope this will not repeat again because in cricket we are a united family and we must be seen as a family,” BourneCoker said. “Prior to that I think we were sailing smoothly,” he added.

Meanwhile, former director of tournament, Abu Bakarr Kargbo, was elected chairman of the disciplinary committee after defeating Monty Harding in the polls 12-3. However, Harding was later compensated with the chairmanship of the selection committee.

Related Articles

Latest Articles