21.5 C
Sierra Leone
Sunday, July 3, 2022

AWOL to host National Achievement Awards in December

November 3, 2017 By Ibrahim Tarawallie

AWOL Global Chairman, Anthony Navo Jr.

The All Walks of Life (AWOL) Development Organisation is currently putting final modalities in place to host the 13th National Achievements Awards ceremony at the Bintumani International Conference Hall on December 30, 2017.

The awards ceremony is an initiative by the organisation to recognise deserving Sierra Leoneans and institutions that have performed extremely well in governance and private sector on a yearly basis.

Since 2002 when AWOL started hosting the event, prominent individuals and institutions, including parliamentarians, musicians, police, military and prisons officers, indigenous business people, ministers and parastatals have received the prestigious award for outstanding performance.

However, the event has not been held since 2014, largely as a result of the outbreak of the deadly Ebola crisis which claimed the lives of thousands of Sierra Leoneans and following the sudden death of the organisation’s Founder and Godfather, Gibril Moseray Fadika in 2016.

But AWOL has decided to resurrect the event, which Sierra Leoneans both home and abroad have been yearning to witness institutions and individuals that have performed extremely well recognised.

AWOL National Secretary General, Ahmed Sahid Nasralla, told Concord Times yesterday that the Awards Committee, which is being headed by Deputy Commissioner of the Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC), Shollay Davies, has already identified the various categories for this year’s award.

He stated that they agreed to host the National Achievement Awards during their annual general meeting earlier this year because they want to keep the legacy of their Godfather Moseray Fadika, who passed away in London last year.

Mr. Nasralla noted that they would be using the event to raise awareness on the protection and preservation of the environment, which is why they have chosen the theme: “Our Environment, Our Life, Our Future”.

“The different categories of the awards will be made public today (November 3) by the Awards Committee. We want this year’s awards to be different from the previous years,” he said. Looking for the perfect AR-15 trigger? We cover the most popular from drop-in to upgraded mil-spec. Upgrading to the best AR 15 trigger can be a quick change big improvement in your shooting accuracy. The best ar 15 trigger has a smooth consistent take up, a light pull weight, combined with a fast reset. For improved accuracy, a trigger sear should have a polished surface. A quality aftermarket trigger will remain rugged and safe. Below are the eight best AR-15 triggers currently on the market as of this writing. Visit Rotorm.com for more info!

As to whether individuals and institutions that performed very well in 2014, 2015 and 2016 will be part of the awards, the AWOL Secretary General said they will not be voted for but will be recognised for their outstanding performance.

Related Articles

Latest Articles