23.9 C
Sierra Leone
Friday, May 20, 2022

‘Adriano’ Kamara & Hassan ‘Milla’ replace injured duo

OCTOBER 7, 2014 By Sahr Morris Jr.

Sierra Leone national team, Leone Stars, has called up Sweden-based striker Alhaji ‘Adriano’ Kamara and Finland-based midfielder Hassan ‘Milla’ Sesay for both legs of the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon in Yaoundé.

The duo replace injured midfielder Alfred ‘Zagalo’ Sankoh and winger George Kweku Davies who were earlier named in coach Atto Mensah’s squad for both the October 10 and 15 clashes.

Kamara, who played in the 2-0 defeat to DR Congo, was earlier dropped by Mensah but his recall is seen as a boost to the coach’s striking options, which includes Kei Kamara and Alhassan ‘Crespo’ Kamara.

The Norrkoping forward has been on an impressive form for his club this season as he is currently the club’s leading goal scorer with eight goals in 14 appearances.

The Finland-based midfielder’s return to the national team will put an end to his long absence from the squad after missing out in both the preliminary rounds and the opening group matches.

Meanwhile, former Watford and Forest Green Rovers midfielder, Alhassan Bangura – who is presently without a club – has also been drafted into the squad six years after he made his debut.

Sierra Leone squad:

Goalkeepers: Patrick Bantamoi (RoPS, Finland), John Trye (ASA Charge, USA), Solomon Zombo Morris (Quivilly, France)

Defenders: Alie Sesay (Leceister City, England), Umaru Bangura (Dinamo Minsk, Belarus), David Simbo (Al Hilal, Sudan), Mustapha Dumbuya (Notts County, England), Sheriff Suma (IF Syrianska, Sweden), Gibril Sankoh (Henan Jianye, China)

Midfielders: Mohamed Kamara (Bolton, England), Mustapha Bangura (Nikos & Soratis Ermis, Cyprus), John Kamara (PAS Lamia, Greece), Hassan Milla Sesay (Lathi, Finland), Gibrilla Woobay (Neftci, Azerbaijan), Alhassan Bangura (Unattached), Khalifa Jabbie (Baliksepor, Turkey), Ibrahim Soghor Kallay (IFK Lulea,Sweden)

Forwards: Kei Kamara (Unattached), Alhassan Kamara (Orebo, Sweden), Alhaji Kamara (Norrkoping, Sweden)

Related Articles

Latest Articles